

Cabinet Social Wellbeing Committee

Minute of Decision

This document contains information for the New Zealand Cabinet. It must be treated in confidence and handled in accordance with any security classification, or other endorsement. The information can only be released, including under the Official Information Act 1982, by persons with the appropriate authority.

Waikeria Prison Riot: Ex Gratia Payments for Lost Personal Property

Portfolio Corrections

On 12 May 2021, the Cabinet Social Wellbeing Committee:

- 1 **noted** that the Waikeria riot, which took place from 29 December 2020 to 3 January 2021, caused extensive damage to the top jail facility at Waikeria Prison;
- 2 **noted** that, as a result of the Waikeria riot, prisoner and staff property stored at the top jail facility has been destroyed or is unable to be safely recovered;
- 3 **noted** that the Department of Corrections has no legal obligation to compensate prisoners and staff for loss of their personal property;
- 4 **noted** that the Department of Corrections proposes making an *ex gratia* payment to prisoners and staff who lost personal property as a result of the riot;
- 5 **authorised** the Department of Corrections to make *ex gratia* payments to prisoners who lost personal property due to the Waikeria riot (excluding those who have been charged in relation to the riot), up to a total of \$1.3 million;
- 6 **authorised** the Department of Corrections to make *ex gratia* payments to staff who lost personal property due to the Waikeria riot, for an amount equivalent to the losses they have incurred, after any personal insurance options have been exhausted, up to a total of \$50,000;
- 7 **noted** that any authorised *ex gratia* payments will be funded from the Department of Corrections' existing budget allocation through reprioritisation.

Rachel Clarke Committee Secretary

Present:

Rt Hon Jacinda Ardern Hon Grant Robertson Hon Kelvin Davis Hon Carmel Sepuloni (Chair) Hon Andrew Little Hon Poto Williams Hon Kris Faafoi Hon Dr Ayesha Verrall Hon Aupito William Sio Hon Priyanca Radhakrishnan **Officials present from:** Office of the Prime Minister Office of the SWC Chair Officials Committee for SWC