Volunteers

We have around 1,700 authorised volunteers actively working with people in prison on a regular basis.

Volunteering within Corrections supports our goal of reducing re-offending, by assisting people to meet their rehabilitative needs and transition back into society (reintegration).

Volunteers also support and complement our services and constructive activities for people in prison, for example in music, health and wellbeing, cultural and religious services, reading and writing, parenting/life skills or supporting other rehabilitation and reintegration programmes we have to offer.

Volunteering can be done individually or by working with volunteer groups and organisations to meet individual needs.

Our volunteers bring a unique connection to people we work with (particularly in prison) that our staff are unable to provide, that we particularly appreciate.

Volunteer qualities

Volunteering can be challenging. Our volunteers need maturity, a strong pro-social attitude and the ability to cope with difficult people and situations. Volunteering for us requires a real connection with the outside world. You may be seen by people inside as a role model and a respected member of the community.

Students

If you're a student and interested in volunteering for us you need to be clear about your prospective role in meeting the needs of the individual and what skills you can offer.

How to apply

If you would like to apply to become a volunteer, contact your local volunteer coordinator listed below.

Volunteer coordinators

As well as recruiting volunteers, volunteer coordinators are responsible for the engagement, training, administration and monitoring of volunteers. They're also the first point of contact for all local issues.

For general questions about the programme contact volunteering@corrections.govt.nz

AreaVolunteer coordinator
  • Northland Region Corrections Facility

Porsha Anderson
porsha.anderson@corrections.govt.nz
(09) 401 5800

PO Box 727
Kaikohe 0440

  • Auckland Prison

Lesley Weavers
lesley.weavers@corrections.govt.nz
(09) 304 3752

Private Bag 50124
Albany
North Shore
Auckland 0752

  • Auckland Region Women's Corrections Facility

Stephen Jones
stephen.jones@corrections.govt.nz
(09) 250 9422

Department of Corrections
Private Box 11612
Ellerslie Auckland 1542

  • Mount Eden Corrections Facility

Ghissy Lee
ghissy.lee@corrections.govt.nz

Departmnet of Corrections
Private Bag 92616
Symonds Stree
Auckland 1150

  • Spring Hill Corrections Facility

Kelly Tangaroa
kelly.tangaroa@corrections.govt.nz
(07) 826 0325

Department of Corrections
Private Bag 503
Huntly 3740

  • Waikeria Prison

Nadine Allen
nadine.allen@corrections.govt.nz
(07) 872 6641

Department of Corrections
Private Bag 2400
Te Awamutu 3840

  • Tongariro Prison

Chelsea Tautala
chelsea.tautala@corrections.govt.nz
(07) 384 7514

Department of Corrections
Private Bag 500
Turangi 3353

  • Hawke’s Bay Regional Prison

Karyn Teddy
karyn.teddy@corrections.govt.nz
(06) 872 8034

Department of Corrections
Private Bag 1600
Napier 4142

  • Whanganui Prison

Andrea Zander
andrea.zander@corrections.govt.nz
(06) 349 2216 ext 76715

Department of Corrections
Private Bag 3000
Wanganui 4540

  • Manawatu Prison

Priscilla Carston
priscilla.carston@corrections.govt.nz
(06) 351 7603 ext 67603

Department of Corrections
Private Bag 11023
Palmerston North 4442

  • Rimutaka Prison

Clare Sumner
clare.sumner@corrections.govt.nz
(04) 529 0878

Department of Corrections
Private Bag 47901
Trentham 5143

  • Arohata Prison
Carol Disspain-Blowers
Carol.Disspain-Blowers@corrections.govt.nz
(04) 529 0228 ext 68928
  • Christchurch Men's Prison

Jennifer Hardy
Jennifer.hardy@corrections.govt.nz
(03) 345 6443

Department of Corrections
Private Bag 4944
Christchurch 8140

  • Christchurch Women’s Prison

Helen Egan
helen.egan@corrections.govt.nz
(03) 363 7118 ext 74318

Private Bag 4702
Christchurch 8140

  • Rolleston Prison

Mary Stretch
Mary.Stretch@corrections.govt.nz
(03) 363 7118 ext 74318

PO Box 45
Rolleston
Canterbury 7643

  • Otago Corrections Facility

Moana Wahanui
Moana.Wahanui@corrections.govt.nz
(03) 417 9503

Private Bag 2000
Balclutha 9240

  • Invercargill Prison

Jane King
jane.king@corrections.govt.nz
(03) 211 3400 ext 73495

PO Box 827
Invercargill 9840